The Night Parrot Recovery Team plays an important role in ensuring that research and management activities undertaken in support of Night Parrot conservation are aligned and coordinated.

The primary function of the team is to provide a forum for the coordination, delivery and ongoing review of the current Night Parrot Research Plan, and subsequent research or recovery plans as they are developed.

The Night Parrot Recovery Team also considers new information, provides advice to government and non-government organisations on priorities for research and conservation action, promotes the recovery effort and recommends new initiatives.

The current Night Parrot Recovery Team comprises:

  • Mr Peter Cochrane (Chair)
  • Dr Allan Burbidge (Principal Research Scientist, WA Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions)
  • Dr Rachel Paltridge (Director, Desert Wildlife Services, Alice Springs)
  • Dr Leo Joseph (Director, Australian National Wildlife Collection, CSIRO)
  • Dr John Hodgon (Manager Threatened Species Program, Conservation and Sustainability Services, Queensland Department of Environment and Science)
  • Mr Simon Nally (Department of the Environment, Australian Government)
  • Mr Marty McLaughlin (Principal Ranger (Central Region), Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service, Queensland Department of Environment and Science)
  • Mr Nick Leseberg (University of Queensland)
  • Dr Richard Seaton (Australian Wildlife Conservancy)
  • Professor James Watson (University of Queensland)
  • Dr Steve Murphy (Adaptive NRM).